The Tenth Dynasty (Dynasty X)

The Tenth Dynasty ruled Lower Egypt from Herakleopolis Magna (Nen-nesut). They came into conflict with the Theban Eleventh Dynasty which ruled Upper Egypt, and ultimately lost. There is almost no archeological evidence as to the rulers, which makes it all but impossible to place any kings with confidence. The Turin king list helps, as it details 18 kings for dynasties 9-10, but curiously does not separate them into two dynasties.

The Tenth Dynasty <small>(Dynasty X)</small>

#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Nebkaura Khety IV Nebkaure Khety IV, Khety V between 2160 and 2130
2 Merikara Merykare c. 2075–2040

Unplaced kings

#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
Sekhemkara I Sekhemkare I
Wadjkara Wadjkare


With 2336 hieroglyphic names of the pharaohs
© 2011-2020 by Peter Lundström — All Rights Reserved — V.2019-07-08
Disclaimer: The content should be accurate, but errors and omissions are possible. All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources.