The Twelfth Dynasty (Dynasty XII)

Dates: 1939-1760 BCE. – Capital: Itj-tawy

The Twelfth Dynasty brought the Middle Kingdom to new heights. The pharaohs started keeping well-trained standing armies, and had fortifications built. These armies were also used in foreign campaigns, but mostly there was peace and economic prosperity that hadn't existed since the Old Kingdom.

The Twelfth Dynasty <small>(Dynasty XII)</small>

#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Amenemhat I Sehotepibra Amenemhet I 1939–1910
2 Senusret I Kheperkara Senusret I, Senwosret I 1920–1875
3 Amenemhat II Nubkaura Amenemhet II 1878–1843
4 Senusret II Khakheperra Senusret II, Senwosret II 1845–1837
5 Senusret III Khakhaura Senusret III, Senwosret III, Sesostris 1837–1819
6 Amenemhat III Nimaatra Amenemhet III 1818–1773
7 Amenemhat IV Maakherura Amenemhet IV 1772–1764
8 Neferusobek Sobekkara Sobekneferu 1763–1760


With 2336 hieroglyphic names of the pharaohs
© 2011-2020 by Peter Lundström — All Rights Reserved — V.2019-07-08
Disclaimer: The content should be accurate, but errors and omissions are possible. All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources.