The Seventeenth Dynasty (Dynasty XVII)

Dates: 1580-1550 BCE. – Capital: Thebes

The Theban rulers of the Seventeenth Dynasty were contemporary with the Fifteenth and Sixteenth Dynasties, as Egypt was split into small Hyksos-ruled kingdoms. At the end of the dynasty, the Hyksos were defeated and the kingdom once again reunited, as Ahmose, the brother of Kamose, founded the Eighteenth Dynasty and with it the New Kingdom.

The Seventeenth Dynasty <small>(Dynasty XVII)</small>

#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Rahotep Sekhemra wahkhau Rehotep 1580–1576
2 Sobekemsaf I Sekhemra wadjkhau 1576–1573
3 Sobekemsaf II Sekhemra shedtawy
4 Intef VI Sekhemra wepmaat Sekhemra-Wepmaat Intef
5 Intef VII Nubkheperra Nubkheperra Intef
6 Intef VIII Sekhemra Sekhemra Heruhirmaat Intef
7 Senakhtenra Senakhtenra Senakhtenre Tao in older texts 1559–1558
8 Seqenenra Seqenenra Seqenenre Tao 1558–1554
9 Kamose Wadjkheperra Kamesiu 1555–1550


With 2336 hieroglyphic names of the pharaohs
© 2011-2020 by Peter Lundström — All Rights Reserved — V.2019-07-08
Disclaimer: The content should be accurate, but errors and omissions are possible. All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources.