The Eighteenth Dynasty (Dynasty XVIII)

Dates: 1550-1292 BCE. – Capital: Thebes/Akhetaten

The Eighteenth Dynasty ushered in the New Kingdom by defeating and expulsing the Hyksos. The Two Lands were finally united again, and successive pharaohs expanded the empire through force and diplomacy. The wealth gained led to an era of prosperity and massive building projects as art and architecture flourished.

Thutmose III was the greatest military pharaoh ever, his reign is seen as a high point of the dynasty. Many of the pharaohs of the dynasty were buried in the Valley of the Kings at Thebes. Several diplomatic marriages are known to have been arranged.

There was however also the Amarna Period, during which monotheism was forced upon the kingdom, under Pharaoh Akhenaton. His successors had his name systematically erased from history, which makes it is very difficult to establish the chronological sequence of reigns, as most of the evidence of his reign was destroyed some 2300 years ago.

The Eighteenth Dynasty <small>(Dynasty XVIII)</small>

#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Ahmose I Nebpehtyra Amasis, Amosis 1550–1525
2 Amenhotep I Djoserkara Amenophis I 1541–1520
3 Thutmose I Aakheperkara Tuthmosis I, Thutmosis I 1520–1492
4 Thutmose II Aakheperenra Tuthmosis II, Thutmosis II 1492–1479
5 Hatshepsut Maatkara Hatchepsut 1473–1458
6 Thutmose III Menkheperra Tuthmosis III, Thutmosis III 1479–1425
7 Amenhotep II Aakheperura Amenophis II 1425–1400
8 Thutmose IV Menkheperura Tuthmosis IV, Thutmosis IV 1400–1390
9 Amenhotep III Nebmaatra Amenophis III 1390–1352
10 Amenhotep IV Neferkheperura waenra Akhenaten, Akhenaton, Echnaton, Amenophis IV 1352–1334
11 Neferneferuaten Ankhkheperura Nefertiti, Meritaten 1334–1332
12 Smenkhkara Ankhkheperura Smenkhare, Smenkare c. 1332
13 Tutankhamun Nebkheperura Tutankhamon, King Tut, Tutankhamen, Tutankhaton 1332–1323
14 Ay Kheperkheperura–Irimaat Aja, Aya 1322–1320
15 Horemheb Djeserkheperura setepenra Horemhab, Haremhab 1320–1292


With 2336 hieroglyphic names of the pharaohs
© 2011-2020 by Peter Lundström — All Rights Reserved — V.2019-07-08
Disclaimer: The content should be accurate, but errors and omissions are possible. All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources.