The Argead Dynasty of Ancient Egypt

Dates: 332-309 BC.
Capital: Alexandria

Alexander the Great invaded Egypt and was greeted as a liberator by ending the Persian occupation. When Alexander died in 323 BC, one of his generals, Ptolemy, was appointed to govern Egypt. He nominally served under the heirs of Alexander, but was already the king in all but title. In 305 BC he finally ended all pretense and took the title of Pharaoh, founding the Ptolemaic dynasty.

The Argead Dynasty
#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Alexander the Great Setepenra meryamun 332–323
2 Philip III Arrhidaeus Setepenkara meryamun 323–317
3 Alexander IV Aegus Haaibra setepenamun 317–309
End of page
Ancient historians
Terms & information

OK – Old Kingdom
Dynasties 3-6

MK – Middle Kingdom
Dynasties 11-12

NK – New Kingdom
Dynasties 18-20

SIP – Second Intermediate Period
Dynasties 13-17

Thebes – The Southern capital

Memphis – The Northern capital

Epitome – Manetho’s original Aegyptiaca was lost in antiquity, and in the following centuries, it was replaced by Epitomes (summaries) by rivalling advocates of Jewish, Egyptian, and Greek history that saw each side trying to establish the truth according to their point of view.

Vorlage – From the German for prototype or template, a vorlage is a prior version of a manuscript, in this case an earlier version of the canon.

Recto and verso – Recto is the front side and verso is the back side of a written or printed text.

Cartouche – oval band enclosing a pharaohs name

Hieratic – cursive form of hieroglyphic script

Hyksos – Greek form of ḥḳꜢ-ḫꜢswt or “rulers of foreign lands,” referring to peoples who migrated and controlled parts Egypt during the SIP.

Mortuary Temple – where the gods and the king who built the temple were worshipped.

CC BY   Creative Commons

All content on this website is free to copy, redistribute and adapt in any medium or format, provided you give the appropriate credit. Yes, this includes images and texts. Keep information free!

This page was retrieved from PHARAOH.SE
© 2011–2022 by Peter Lundström — Some Rights Reserved — V. 4.0
Disclaimer: Content should be accurate, but errors and/or omissions are possible.
All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources! Best on a large screen.