The Eighth Dynasty of Ancient Egypt

The Eight Dynasty saw the breakdown of the central authority of pharaoh, and the rise of local governors (nomarchs.) Eventually the nomarchs of Herakleopolis became as powerful as the pharaohs and finally ousted them from power, founding the Ninth Dynasty. Almost nothing but the names of the pharaohs are known.

The Eighth Dynasty
#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Netjerikara Netjerikara Netjerikare, Nitocris
2 Menkara Menkara Menkare
3 Neferkara II Neferkara Neferkare II
4 Neferkara Neby Neferkara Neferkare Neby
5 Djedkara Shemai Djedkara Djedkare Shemay
6 Neferkara Khendu Neferkara Neferkare Khendu
7 Merenhor Merenhor
8 Neferkamin I Neferkamin Seneferka
9 Nikara Nikara Nikare
10 Neferkara Tereru Neferkara Neferkare Tereru
11 Neferkahor Neferkahor
12 Neferkara Pepiseneb Neferkara Neferkare Pepiseneb
13 Neferkamin Anu Neferkamin
14 Qakara Ibi Qakara
15 Neferkaura Neferkaura Neferkaure
16 Neferkauhor Neferkauhor
17 Neferirkara II Neferirkare II
End of page
Ancient historians
Terms & information

OK – Old Kingdom
Dynasties 3-6

MK – Middle Kingdom
Dynasties 11-12

NK – New Kingdom
Dynasties 18-20

SIP – Second Intermediate Period
Dynasties 13-17

Thebes – The Southern capital

Memphis – The Northern capital

Epitome – Manetho’s original Aegyptiaca was lost in antiquity, and in the following centuries, it was replaced by Epitomes (summaries) by rivalling advocates of Jewish, Egyptian, and Greek history that saw each side trying to establish the truth according to their point of view.

Vorlage – From the German for prototype or template, a vorlage is a prior version of a manuscript, in this case an earlier version of the canon.

Recto and verso – Recto is the front side and verso is the back side of a written or printed text.

Cartouche – oval band enclosing a pharaohs name

Hieratic – cursive form of hieroglyphic script

Hyksos – Greek form of ḥḳꜢ-ḫꜢswt or “rulers of foreign lands,” referring to peoples who migrated and controlled parts Egypt during the SIP.

Mortuary Temple – where the gods and the king who built the temple were worshipped.

CC BY   Creative Commons

All content on this website is free to copy, redistribute and adapt in any medium or format, provided you give the appropriate credit. Yes, this includes images and texts. Keep information free!

This page was retrieved from PHARAOH.SE
© 2011–2022 by Peter Lundström — Some Rights Reserved — V. 4.0
Disclaimer: Content should be accurate, but errors and/or omissions are possible.
All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources! Best on a large screen.