The Thirteenth Dynasty of Ancient Egypt

Dates: 1803-1649 BC.
Capital: Thebes

The true chronology and number of kings of the Thirteenth Dynasty is very difficult to determine as many of the kings' names are only known from fragmentary inscriptions or scarabs. Furthermore, the placement of many kings listed in this dynasty is very uncertain and disputed among Egyptologists.

The Thirteenth Dynasty
#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Sobekhotep I Sekhemre Khutawy Sobekhotep 1803–1800
2 Sonbef Sekhemkara Sekhemkare Amenemhat Sonbef 1800–1796
3 Nerikara Nerikare 1796
4 Sekhemkara Amenemhat Amenemhat V 1796–1793
5 Ameny Qemau 1793–1791
6 Qemau Siharnedjheritef Hotepibra Amenemhat VI 1791–1788
7 Iufni 1788
8 Sankhibra Amenemhat 1788–1785
9 Nebnun Semenkara Semenkare Nebnun, Nebennu 1785–1783
10 Sewesekhtawy Sehotepibra 1783–1781
11 Sewadjkara 1781
12 Nedjemibra 1780
13 Sobekhotep II Khaankhre Sobekhotep, Sobekhotep I in older studies 1780–1777
14 Ranisonb 1777
15 Hor I 1777–1775
16 Sekhemra Khutawy 1775–1772
17 Djedkheperu 1772–1770
18 Sebkay 1770–1769
19 Sedjefakara Kay-Amenemhat Amenemhat VII 1769–1766
20 Wegaf 1766–1764
21 Khendjer 1764–1759
22 Imyremeshaw Smenkhkare Emramesha 1759
23 Intef IV Sehotepkara Intef V, Sehotepkare Intef
24 Meribra Seth 1749
25 Sobekhotep III Sekhemre Sewadjtawy Sobkhotep 1749–1742
26 Neferhotep I Khasekhemra Khasekhemre Neferhotep 1742–1731
27 Sihathor Menwadjra Menwadjre Sihathor, Sahathor 1733
28 Sobekhotep IV Khaneferra Khaneferre Sobekhotep 1732–1720
29 Sobekhotep V Merhotepra Merhotepre Sobekhotep, Sobekhotep VI in older studies 1720–1717
30 Sobekhotep VI Khahotepra Khahotepre Sobekhotep, Sobekhotep V 1717–1712
31 Wahibra Jaib Wahibra Wahibre Iaib, Wahibre Ibiau 1712–1701
32 Aya Merneferra Merneferre Ay 1701–1677
33 Ini Merhotepra Merhotepre 1677–1675
34 Sewadjtu Sankhenra Sankhenre 1675–1672
35 Ined Mersekhemra Mersekhemre 1672–1669
36 Sewadjkara Hori 1669–1664
37 Sobekhotep VII Merkaure Sobekhotep 1664–1662
46 Merkheperra Merkheperre
47 Merkara Merkare
49 Mentuhotep V Sewadjare Mentuhotep, Mentuhotep VI
51 Ibi
52 Hor II
53 Se...kara Sekare
54 Sankhptahi

Unplaced kings

#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
Sekhaenra Yakbim, Yakobmu
Maara Sobekhotep Sobekhotep IX
End of page
Ancient historians
Terms & information

OK – Old Kingdom
Dynasties 3-6

MK – Middle Kingdom
Dynasties 11-12

NK – New Kingdom
Dynasties 18-20

SIP – Second Intermediate Period
Dynasties 13-17

Thebes – The Southern capital

Memphis – The Northern capital

Epitome – Manetho’s original Aegyptiaca was lost in antiquity, and in the following centuries, it was replaced by Epitomes (summaries) by rivalling advocates of Jewish, Egyptian, and Greek history that saw each side trying to establish the truth according to their point of view.

Vorlage – From the German for prototype or template, a vorlage is a prior version of a manuscript, in this case an earlier version of the canon.

Recto and verso – Recto is the front side and verso is the back side of a written or printed text.

Cartouche – oval band enclosing a pharaohs name

Hieratic – cursive form of hieroglyphic script

Hyksos – Greek form of ḥḳꜢ-ḫꜢswt or “rulers of foreign lands,” referring to peoples who migrated and controlled parts Egypt during the SIP.

Mortuary Temple – where the gods and the king who built the temple were worshipped.

CC BY   Creative Commons

All content on this website is free to copy, redistribute and adapt in any medium or format, provided you give the appropriate credit. Yes, this includes images and texts. Keep information free!

This page was retrieved from PHARAOH.SE
© 2011–2022 by Peter Lundström — Some Rights Reserved — V. 4.0
Disclaimer: Content should be accurate, but errors and/or omissions are possible.
All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources! Best on a large screen.