The Third Dynasty (Dynasty III)

Dates: 2593-2544 BCE. – Capital: Memphis

The Third Dynasty ushered in the Old Kingdom. Memphis had now taken over from Thinis as the capital. The line of succession is still disputed amongst Egyptologists. It is very difficult to even place the various names with a certain king. There is some evidence to suggest that a civil war erupted during this dynasty.

The Third Dynasty <small>(Dynasty III)</small>

#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Nebka Hen Nekht (not in use anymore)
2 Djoser Zezer, Zozer, Djeser 2592–2566
3 Sekhemkhet Djosertety, Djoserteti, Djoserty 2565–2559
4 Hudjefa II
5 Mesochris
6 Nebkara Nebkare
7 Neferkara Neferkare
8 Huni ?–2544


With 2336 hieroglyphic names of the pharaohs
© 2011-2020 by Peter Lundström — All Rights Reserved — V.2019-07-08
Disclaimer: The content should be accurate, but errors and omissions are possible. All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources.