The Fifth Dynasty of Ancient Egypt

Dates: 2435-2306 BC.
Capital: Memphis

According to Manetho, the Fifth Dynasty ruled from Elephantine, but archeologists have found evidence clearly showing that it was still located at Memphis.

The Fifth Dynasty
#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Userkaf 2435–2429
2 Sahura Sahure 2428–2416
3 Neferirkara I Kakai Neferirkara Nerferirkare I 2415–2405
4 Shepseskara Netjeruser Shepseskara Shepseskare
5 Neferefra Isi Neferefra Neferefre, Raneferef 2403
6 Niuserra Ini Niuserra Niuserre 2402–2374
7 Menkauhor Kaiu Menkauhor Horikau, Ikauhor 2373–2366
8 Djedkara Isesi Djedkara Djedkare Isesi 2365–2322
9 Unas Unas Wenis, Unis 2321–2306
End of page
Ancient historians
Terms & information

OK – Old Kingdom
Dynasties 3-6

MK – Middle Kingdom
Dynasties 11-12

NK – New Kingdom
Dynasties 18-20

SIP – Second Intermediate Period
Dynasties 13-17

Thebes – The Southern capital

Memphis – The Northern capital

Epitome – Manetho’s original Aegyptiaca was lost in antiquity, and in the following centuries, it was replaced by Epitomes (summaries) by rivalling advocates of Jewish, Egyptian, and Greek history that saw each side trying to establish the truth according to their point of view.

Vorlage – From the German for prototype or template, a vorlage is a prior version of a manuscript, in this case an earlier version of the canon.

Recto and verso – Recto is the front side and verso is the back side of a written or printed text.

Cartouche – oval band enclosing a pharaohs name

Hieratic – cursive form of hieroglyphic script

Hyksos – Greek form of ḥḳꜢ-ḫꜢswt or “rulers of foreign lands,” referring to peoples who migrated and controlled parts Egypt during the SIP.

Mortuary Temple – where the gods and the king who built the temple were worshipped.

CC BY   Creative Commons

All content on this website is free to copy, redistribute and adapt in any medium or format, provided you give the appropriate credit. Yes, this includes images and texts. Keep information free!

This page was retrieved from PHARAOH.SE
© 2011–2022 by Peter Lundström — Some Rights Reserved — V. 4.0
Disclaimer: Content should be accurate, but errors and/or omissions are possible.
All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources! Best on a large screen.