The Twenty-second Dynasty of Ancient Egypt

Dates: 945-720 BC.
Capital: Tanis

The Twenty-second Dynasty were Libyan settlers that ruled parts of Lower Egypt.

The Twenty-second Dynasty
#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Shoshenq I Hedjkheperra setepenra Sheshonq I, Sheshonk I 943–922
2 Osorkon I Sekhemkheperra 922–887
3 Shoshenq II Hedjkheperra setepenra Sheshonq II, Sheshonk II
4 Shoshenq IIb Tutkheperra Sheshonq IIb, Sheshonk IIb
5 Takelot I Hedjkheperra setepenra 885–872
6 Osorkon II Usermaatra setepenamun 872–837
7 Shoshenq III Usermaatra setepenra Sheshonq III, Sheshonk III 837–798
8 Shoshenq IV Hedjkheperra setepenra 798–785
9 Pami Usermaatra 785–778
10 Shoshenq V Aakheperra Sheshonq V, Sheshonk V 778–740
11 Pedubast II Sehotepibenra
12 Osorkon IV Usermaatra 740–720
End of page
Ancient historians
Terms & information

OK – Old Kingdom
Dynasties 3-6

MK – Middle Kingdom
Dynasties 11-12

NK – New Kingdom
Dynasties 18-20

SIP – Second Intermediate Period
Dynasties 13-17

Thebes – The Southern capital

Memphis – The Northern capital

Epitome – Manetho’s original Aegyptiaca was lost in antiquity, and in the following centuries, it was replaced by Epitomes (summaries) by rivalling advocates of Jewish, Egyptian, and Greek history that saw each side trying to establish the truth according to their point of view.

Vorlage – From the German for prototype or template, a vorlage is a prior version of a manuscript, in this case an earlier version of the canon.

Recto and verso – Recto is the front side and verso is the back side of a written or printed text.

Cartouche – oval band enclosing a pharaohs name

Hieratic – cursive form of hieroglyphic script

Hyksos – Greek form of ḥḳꜢ-ḫꜢswt or “rulers of foreign lands,” referring to peoples who migrated and controlled parts Egypt during the SIP.

Mortuary Temple – where the gods and the king who built the temple were worshipped.

CC BY   Creative Commons

All content on this website is free to copy, redistribute and adapt in any medium or format, provided you give the appropriate credit. Yes, this includes images and texts. Keep information free!

This page was retrieved from PHARAOH.SE
© 2011–2022 by Peter Lundström — Some Rights Reserved — V. 4.0
Disclaimer: Content should be accurate, but errors and/or omissions are possible.
All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources! Best on a large screen.