Roman province of Ancient Egypt

Egypt became a province of the Roman Empire after Octavian defeated Cleopatra in 30 BCE. They are included here because locally, the Emperors continued the use of hieroglyphics for another 300 years, until it finally stopped as the knowledge was eventually lost.

Roman Emperors

#EmperorLatin namesReign (CE)
1AugustusImperator Caesar Divi Filius Augustus27 BC–14 CE
2TiberiusTiberius Caesar Divi Augusti Fīlius Augustus14–37
3CaligulaGaius Julius Caesar Augustus Germanicus37–41
4ClaudiusTiberius Claudius Caesar Augustus Germanicus41–54
5NeroNero Claudius Caesar Augustus Germanicus54–68
6GalbaServius Sulpicius Galba Caesar Augustus68–69
7OthoMarcus Salvius Otho Caesar Augustus69
8VespasianusVespsian, Titus Flavius Caesar Vespasianus Augustus69–79
9TitusTitus Flavius Sabinus Vespasianus Augustus79–81
10DomitianusDomitian, Titus Flavius Caesar Domitianus Augustus81–96
11NervaMarcus Cocceius Nerva Caesar Augustus96–98
12TrajanusTrajan, Imperator Caesar Nerva Traianus Divi Nervae filius Augustus98–117
13HadrianusHadrian, Publius Aelius Hadrianus Augustus117–138
14Antoninus PiusTitus Fulvus Aelius Hadrianus Antoninus Augustus Pius138–161
15Marcus AureliusMarcus Aurelius Antoninus Augustus161–180
16Lucius VerusLucius Aurelius Verus Augustus161–169
17CommodusMarcus Aurelius Commodus Antoninus Augustus177–192
18Septimius SeverusLucius Septimius Severus Augustus193–211
19CaracallaMarcus Aurelius Severus Antoninus Augustus217–218
20GetaPublius Septimius Geta Augustus217–218
21MacrinusMarcus Opellius Severus Macrinus Augustus244–249
22DiadumenianusDiadumenian, Marcus Opellius Antoninus Diadumenianus249–251
23Philippus ArabsPhilip the Arab, Marcus Julius Philippus Augustus253–260
24Trajanus DeciusDecius, Caesar Gaius Messius Quintus Traianus Decius Augustus276–282
25ValerianusValerian, Publius Licinius Valerianus Augustus284–305
26ProbusMarcus Aurelius Probus Augustus276–282
27DiocletianusDiocletian, Gaius Aurelius Valerius Diocletianus Augustus284–305
28MaximianusMaximian, Marcus Aurelius Valerius Maximianus Herculius Augustus286–305
29GaleriusGaius Galerius Valerius Maximianus Augustus305–311
30Maximinus DaiaMaximinus II, Gaius Valerius Galerius Maximinus Daia Augustus311–313