The First Dynasty (Dynasty I)

Dates: 2900-2737 BCE. – Capital: Thinis

The First Dynasty of covers the first Egyptian kings to rule over a unified Egypt. It immediately follows the unification of Upper and Lower Egypt, most likely by king Narmer, and marks the beginning of Egyptian historical times. The center of power was centered at the yet to be discovered city of Thinis. Very few details of this dynasty has survived. The large tombs of the kings were built mainly of wood with only some small use of stone for the walls and floors. It is thought that human sacrifice was part of the funerary ceremonies, as many smaller tombs were found adjacent to tombs of the kings.

The First Dynasty <small>(Dynasty I)</small>

#PharaohThrone nameAlso known asReign*
1 Narmer Menes c. 2900
2 Aha Hor-Aha ?–2870
3 Djer Hor-Djer 2870–2823
4 Djet Wadj, Zet, Uadji 2822–2815
5 Den Khasty Dewen, Udimu 2814–2772
6 Adjib Merybiap Anedjib, Enezib 2771–2764
7 Semerkhet Iry/Semsu 2763–2756
8 Qaa Kaa 2755–2732


With 2336 hieroglyphic names of the pharaohs
© 2011-2020 by Peter Lundström — All Rights Reserved — V.2019-07-08
Disclaimer: The content should be accurate, but errors and omissions are possible. All information is provided "as is". Always check the sources.