Eighteenth Dynasty of Ancient Egypt

The Eighteenth Dynasty ushered in the New Kingdom by defeating and expulsing the Hyksos. The Two Lands were finally united again, and successive pharaohs expanded the empire through force and diplomacy. The wealth gained led to an era of prosperity and massive building projects as art and architecture flourished.

Thutmose III was the greatest military pharaoh ever, his reign is seen as a high point of the dynasty. Many of the pharaohs of the dynasty were buried in the Valley of the Kings at Thebes. Several diplomatic marriages are known to have been arranged.

There was however also the Amarna Period, during which monotheism was forced upon the kingdom, under Pharaoh Akhenaton. His successors had his name systematically erased from history, which makes it is very difficult to establish the chronological sequence of reigns, as most of the evidence of his reign was destroyed some 2300 years ago.
Pharaoh Also known as Reign
1 Ahmose I Amasis, Amosis 1550–1525
2 Amenhotep I Amenophis I 1541–1520
3 Thutmose I Tuthmosis I, Thutmosis I 1520–1492
4 Thutmose II Tuthmosis II, Thutmosis II 1492–1479
5 Hatshepsut Hatchepsut 1473–1458
6 Thutmose III Tuthmosis III, Thutmosis III 1479–1425
7 Amenhotep II Amenophis II 1425–1400
8 Thutmose IV Tuthmosis IV, Thutmosis IV 1400–1390
9 Amenhotep III Amenophis III 1390–1352
10 Amenhotep IV Akhenaten, Akhenaton, Echnaton, Amenophis IV 1352–1334
11 Neferneferuaten Nefertiti, Meritaten 1334–1332
12 Smenkhkara Smenkhare, Smenkare 1334–1332
13 Tutankhamun Tutankhamon, King Tut, Tutankhamen 1332–1323
14 Ay Aja, Aya 1322–1320
15 Horemheb Horemhab, Haremhab 1320–1292